Vogue 1169 Suit: The Skirt

I have been very busy this past few days and was able to put the skirt together.  Compared to other sewing projects I have attempted these past few months, the skirt was as simple as I’d expected, :).  I could have fit it a little better, but overall I like how it turned out.  I will remember to sew the ribbon to the outer layer of fabric before attaching the lining next time, still working on getting part of the white ribbon cut off.

I like how the pink pick stitching turned out.  I’ve been hand sewing since I was 8, so nice to know all those years of practice have paid off to create nice even lines.  Considering adding a pink belt.

Below are a few of the photos I’ve taken of the skirt.  I really like how the pink accents look with this grey striped suiting fabric.  Next step, the top!

V1169 Skirt Front

V1169 Skirt Front

V1169 Skirt back with ruffle

V1169 Skirt back with ruffle

V1169 Skirt, added a belt and matching pink top.

V1169 Skirt, added a belt and matching pink top.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Vogue 1169 Suit: The Skirt

  1. I really like the pink top stitching.
    I have looked at several of your projects and have to ask why you are machine stitching all of your hems? You apparently have good hand sewing skills. IMO, your projects would look so much more professional if they were hand hemmed or at least blind hemmed. JMHO as someone who has sewn for ~40 years.

    • It’s just so much faster to machine hem and now I have a machine that can do a blind hem so my newer projects look better. Honestly I hand stitch as little as I can get away with.

Leave a Reply

