Simplicity 2212 Project Runway Pattern

I had a lot of fun with this pattern.  It was very simple and easy to put together, the fun part for me was sketching out a pattern design before I began.  I am slowly learning how to design my own pieces and manipulate patterns.  I was looking to create a new salsa dress and saw this gorgeous flowery linen fabric.

Simplicity 2012 Project Runway Pattern

Simplicity 2012 Project Runway Pattern

I decided to make a purple belt out of suede fabric to bring out the purples and blues in the dress fabric and use a contrasting purple thread.  The pattern advised to use boning but I found the interfacing to provide the necessary stiffness.  I had to make a few fitting adjustments but overall very happy with how this simple pattern turned out.  🙂

My new salsa dress using a Simplicity pattern.

My new salsa dress using a Simplicity pattern.

2 thoughts on “Simplicity 2212 Project Runway Pattern

  1. Your dress is beautiful, nice job! I’m about to make the strapless version and was wondering how you found the sizing to run. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

