Vogue 1419 Sew-A-Long Progress

IMG_5997.JPG

So I have begun the process of putting together my coat! First I spent many hours spraying and ironing together my 3 layers of fabric to make the sewing process easier and boy am I glad I did! Sure the pieces are starting to come apart a bit after being worked with but overall they are sticking together well enough to complete the project without any crazy fabric bubbles.

Currently I have worked up to step 32: Attaching the sleeves (Progress can be seen in above images). About 1/3 of the way, yay! I’ve got the front pieces attached to the side pieces and that funky triangle gusset. Thankful for the tip through the sew-a-long of clipping up to the circle on the front pieces, makes the triangle fit so much more smoothly. The second piece went a bit more smoothly than the first, as is usually the case. That triangle portion is shown here:

IMG_5988-1.JPG

And after making a few suits this pattern seems way easier, definitely less pieces! Haha. The seam bias binding is pretty easy for me, just takes some time. I use this method on all my purses so I’m used to it now. Of course the charmeuse can be a bit fun but I love how it looks. I’ve also decided to eliminate the basting step and just sew the seam down after pinning it. Now I did make another change to make sewing it easier for me. I trimmed the seams after sewing them, then put the binding on. This gives me a little extra seam binding so I don’t get any weird underlap from the rough edges of the coat seams. I tried doing it the way the instructions stated but then my binding never quite covered the rough seams which is the whole point of this step.

This is the step I am talking about where I pin it down, then I just sew it from the other side to ensure a nice straight line.

IMG_5978.JPG

And this is the pretty little triangle area which will look better once the sleeve has been attached.

IMG_5986.JPG

Overall very happy with the progress I’ve made so far. Always hard to stop but after poking my fingers a few too many times with the needles and becoming tired I decided to break at this step last night and continue later today, :).

And as always feel free to check out Lladybird as she shares her expertise as well as the McCall blog, 🙂

Leave a Reply

