Vogue 1419 Ralph Rucci Coat Finished!

 IMG_6106

Love how this coat turned out! Look great with a short dress and boots, :). Perfect for those fancier nights out or just because I want to wear my new coat.

IMG_6225.JPG

 There is some puckering here and there but overall it looks great on so I don’t mind.

  IMG_6223.JPG

 These are the fancy bell sleeves with all the fun top stitching. Getting a lot of compliments on these!

    IMG_6222.JPG

The back. I opted to not do button holes in the belt (and honestly I totally missed that step in the instructions, oops!) but I don’t mind not having button holes. This way if I want to move the buttons around to tighten or loosen the belt I can do so much easier!

IMG_6224.JPG

A closer look at those fancy shoulders. Love the lines on this coat. I did not do any baste stitching on the inside bias seams, just pinned them in place and top stitched it all together from the outside.

    IMG_6229.JPG

My welted pockets. Whenever I do single welt pockets I seem to always end up with some puckering at the corners no matter what I do so I just live with it. So most people on the street it’s not even noticeable.

    IMG_6227.JPG

Yay for these fun button holes! My boyfriend thinks it’s weird that both sides are “open” but it works and it looks really cool. I haven’t taken out the stays titch lines yet. The buttons I used are made of real shell, :).

IMG_6134.JPG

And the super fun lining! I’ve gotten a ton of compliments on this piece. I was looking for fabrics to use for the underlining and came across this through a Google search at fabric.com. Love it! Goes perfect with the navy wool/polyester gabardine fabric I had found at Mood fabrics. And the buttons and Thinsulate interlining I used for extra warmth were both purchased from the local Nashville fabric store Textile Fabrics.

You can check out and or follow the sew-a-long with Meg at the McCall blog and Lauren at Lladybird.

4 thoughts on “Vogue 1419 Ralph Rucci Coat Finished!

Leave a Reply

