McCalls Purse 6045 with added Divider

2015/01/img_7112.jpg

I’ve been making these McCall pattern purses for awhile now and decided to make some adjustments for a Christmas gift for my mom. First of all she LOVES blue jeans. Blue jean anything: jackets, pants, purses, etc. I had a couple pairs of ripped jeans so I decided to cut them up to make this purse, :). She also loves pockets so I saved the back pockets on one pair to make the outside pockets on the purse and added a zipper divider in the middle.

I basically cut each pocket out and attached to the central panel on each other side of the purse.

2015/01/img_7104.jpg

I then also made the inner side pockets a little taller as I’ve noticed sometimes the things I put in the pockets fall out.

2015/01/img_7097.jpg

And of course a few pen holder pockets.

2015/01/img_7096-0.jpg

The tricky part was adding a central zipper divider. For this I added half an inch to the inner lining gusset pattern piece leaving the outer piece the same and then cut it in half. I also cut out additional inner lining side pieces to make the central divider attaching the pieces to the zipper like you would for the outer purse sides/lining and then basting the bottom of the divider pocket. I then attached each side of the gusset that was cut in half to the divider sewing it all together. I was then able to baste the other gusset piece to the inner lining piece per the pattern directions.

2015/01/img_7829.jpg

I basically followed the pattern for everything else adding belt loops saved from the pants to the purse handle.

2015/01/img_7156.jpg

Very happy with how it turned out and my mom loved it!

2015/01/img_7154.jpg

And check out my Etsy shop for current purses among other things for sale at HazelJaeDesigns.Etsy.com

2 thoughts on “McCalls Purse 6045 with added Divider

Leave a Reply

