Butterick 5953 Part 1: Muslin

2015/01/img_7848.jpg

So excited to finally be making this pattern!!! Ever since I saw Gertie’s Butterick pattern for this retro dress I knew I had to make it. Pattern can be found here.

I’ve decided to make a muslin for this one since I want it to be fitted and wasn’t sure how much ease the bust had. I decided to make a size 16 for my 38-31-42 hourglass shape. Glad I made a muslin! Bust looks like it’ll be fine (I’d read how it had some ease) but I totally misjudged which side would face out and made my darts on the wrong side, oops! At least it looks like I’ll only need to take the waist in.

2015/01/img_7844.jpg

This is where having a dress dummy is amazing! I have a Dritz body double from Jo-Ann’s. Makes checking out the sides and back way easier!

2015/01/img_7845.jpg

Couldn’t find 1″ buttons to cover anywhere, very frustrating, so I’ve decided to go with 7/8″ buttons and will follow this tutorial I found on how to make my own instead of buying a special kit.

And using the following hunter green slightly stretchy polyester for the main dress and satiny animal print for the accents and buttons, :).

2015/01/img_7841.jpg

Leave a Reply

