Famous Frocks Twiggy Dress

I got this book as a gift for Christmas and I LOVE it! I’ve admired many of the dresses in here and now I can make them, :). You can purchase a copy at many places such as Barnes and Noble.

2015/01/img_7373.jpg

For NYE I went to a 60’s themed party with my boyfriend, so I made the Twiggy dress from this book in a size Large. I chose the longer color block version with pockets. I think it’s fantastic when a dress has pockets. They were the perfect size for my phone. This is my first project using a book. So happy it came with traceable patterns. Took some time.

2015/01/img_7549.jpg

2015/01/img_7551.jpg

Overall the instructions and pattern were easy enough to follow. The pattern was listed as being an intermediate. One part I found tricky was putting in the placket, first time putting in a placket. The instructions were a little hard to follow and ended up putting it in backwards even though I followed the pictures exactly, or thought I had. Just a little weird to button it on the wrong side. I also discovered why when seam ripping open the button holes you should put pins on each side…ripped one a bit too far but patched it up so it’s barely noticeable.

2015/01/img_8058.jpg

The neckband was also a section where I had to pin it a few different ways to finally get it right but I did, :).

2015/01/img_8060.jpg

Overall the dress required minimal fit adjustments, only decreased the side seams by 1/2″ on the sides in the top/bust area due to me being 38″ and the pattern designed to fit a 37″. I love how it turned out! As for the fabric I used scrap and donated fabric I had around the house. The blue was leftover from covering boards when I was a teacher, the gold/cream was gifted to me, and the white was scraps from a previous project. Worked perfectly together. My only purchase was the beautiful set of 1″ buttons.

2015/01/img_8061.jpg

2015/01/img_8056.jpg

2015/01/img_8057.jpg

And pockets! Did I mention how much I love the fact that this dress had optional pockets? ;). They are even the era common circle pockets.

2015/01/img_8059.jpg

And of course the obligatory Twiggy pose, :).

2015/01/img_8066.jpg

One thought on “Famous Frocks Twiggy Dress

  1. Pingback: Marilyn Monroe Seven Year Itch Dress with Pleats Tutorial | HazelJae Designs

Leave a Reply

