Pneuma Tank


Was so excited to finally make this! And to try out my new remote photo clicker, ;). It was a bit of trial and error making the tank and not perfect but a good first try. The tank part was easy and the bra is as well but I was trying to add compression to the sports bra which made it tricky. The Pneuma Tank pattern from Papercut patterns can be purchased in wither PDF or mailed copy. I went with the PDf for instant gratification and easier to make different sizes. I just printed off and taped together a master copy that I use my tracing paper to make the pattern pieces. Also FYI, do not try to download on your iPhone or Kindle as I tried to do, doesn’t work! The file comes in a zip format so needs to be downloaded from a computer.

For the sports bra and capris I used this gorgeous purple slub performance polyester/spandex (87/13) blend from Jo-Ann’s. And then for the tank I used this fun black mesh knit also from Jo-Ann’s.

For the sports bra I ended up using 3 layers: 2 of the purple slub which is a 87/13 polyester/spandex blend and a sturdy inner layer of 93/7 polyester/spandex blend. The purple slub is the external fabric and lining. Using just two layers of the purple slub wasn’t giving me the compression I was looking for and didn’t have any power mesh to give that a go. I think after reading Fehr Trade’s journey in making sports bras here. The layering up on fabric was an idea I got from Clipped Curves. I think with my 34DD’s I’ll be sticking with fancy compression/encapsulation sports bras for running, but this will be great for Zumba and yoga and the low-impact stuff. The fun part was stitching the 3 layers and all the elastics together… I used a size small sports bra and took it in for added compression. Usually I wear mediums so next time I may add some height to the sports bra. I used a size medium for the tank.

The front:

And the back:

Next time I may make the tank a little longer.

And here are some pix of the tank on my body double:

Love those criss-cross straps! After research I used 5/8″ wide fold over elastic I found at my local Jo-Ann’s in lots of fun colors. I decided on pink and purple to match the fabric.


And had to capture one of the back of those pretty criss-cross straps, :). So comfy!

The pants were the same pattern I created from So Sew Easy. She has lots of great patterns. I decided to make this pair in a capri length for Spring/Summer. This is probably my 5th pair now… Might try some shorts next. I used a 2″ wide elastic waist band. So comfy!

And got to use my twin needles for great seaming! I may invest in a wider twin needle for those 1/4″ seams.

And of course some fun outdoor poses, :). Overall the tank is super comfy and looks and feels great with the capris. I definitely have plans to make a few more of these tanks, ;). Better work on some of my other projects first though! I’m thinking bikini next…

Gotta do the warrior pose.

Stretch it out.

5 thoughts on “Pneuma Tank

  1. Pingback: Pneuma Tank Take 2 | HazelJae Designs

Leave a Reply

