So Sew Easy’s Shrug

What’s better than a simple, easy pattern? A free one! I’ve been looking everywhere for a bolero style shrug to wear over my shoulder baring shirts in the cold office during the Spring and Summer.

  
Her pattern can be found at Deby’s site here.

It’s only 2 pieces and 3 seams. It really did take longer to print and piece together the pattern than to put it together, :). I used a soft 60/40 cotton/poly blend from Jo-Ann’s. Unfortunately for me the greatest direction of stretch was the wrong way and I had to cut about 2″ of length from the sleeves. I think I’ll use 4 way stretch next time.

The back was a bit looser than I was looking for so I took it in about an inch on the bottom back line and worked well. I also lettuce leaf sewed the sleeves, first time! And hemmed the edges due to the nature of the fabric I chose.

Overall super easy and will definitely make more!
The side:


And the back:  

 

Leave a Reply

