Purse Display

It’s been awhile since I’ve written a post. Been so busy making stock for my first craft show in over a year with a new concept: purses. I’ll be at the Green Hills YMCA in Nashville this Saturday, November 21st from 10am to 4pm at Crafty Nashville’s holiday market and premier event, :).

So I needed a way to display these purses… I looked all over Amazon, Target, Wal-Mart, Pinterest, etc. and found some options but nothing that was quite what I had in mind or in my price range.
So I drew a sketch, took some calculations (would it fit in my car) and went to Home Depot. Found some nice poplar 1 by 2’s to make a ladder basically, some hinges to make it foldable for portability, screws (the initial 1″ nails used did not work), and 9.25″ wide planks for the shelves.

 My lovely sketch: 
I ended up with 4 pieces of 1 by 2 inch pieces of wood 5 feet long and 8 pieces of the same 1 by 2 inch pieces of wood 9.5″ long. The long pieces were the frame and the shorter pieces the ladder rungs. Then the plank I had cut into a 2′, a 3.5′, and a 4.5′ pieces for the shelves.

Sanding them all down took awhile but putting it together was pretty simple. My boyfriend helped and drilled all the holes for the screws. We put one side of the ladder together, then the other, then attached the hinges at the top.

One side of the “ladder”: 

The hinges at the top:  
 
And voila, a sturdy purse display that folds up for easy transport, :).


Holds the purses really well, :).  

 I’ve also added temporary push pins to the bottom edges of each shelf so I don’t have to measure the display every time I set it up. It will always be at 3.5′ width at the bottom, :). I’ll add pieces of more secure wood later. 

Pretty proud of myself!
  

2 thoughts on “Purse Display

Leave a Reply

