Busy Month!

Wow, this past month has been crazy busy between making stock for craft fairs, final papers for my graduate class, and preparing to move. The first craft fair I did was a first year event here in Nashville called Crafty Nashville and I did ok. There wasn’t a lot of foot traffic but I made back my booth fee. The second one which I was expecting to be my cash cow flopped. The event was called Piccadilly Square Christmas Market, 2 days in Franklin. The event was well advertised and overall done really well, had a lot more foot traffic than the other one but just not much interest in faux leather purses or cotton pouches. I told a couple of my wallets. So I am now in the process of putting all of my stock up on Etsy. I did get a card for an art gallery to set up a small booth during one of Nashville’s Saturday art crawls, definitely worth looking into.

I have created a few new pattern designs. I have my fun leather backed wallets with geeky cotton linings, a simple bi-fold wallet with a main pocket for money and two card pockets. So far I have done a few Doctor Who, Star Trek, Star Wars, the Nashville Predators, Big Bang Theory, and The Walking Dead. So fun to make! The leather I  up-cycle from leather jackets.


Then I have my color blocked purse line. I created my own simple foldover clutch pattern using two different colors (including a fun Star Trek and Star Wars versions!). I use one fabric for the inside and added a zipper pull too. Each measures about 10″ wide and 7.5″ tall when folded over.

Black and Gold Clutch

Black and White Clutch

Star Trek Lining
Then I hacked Deby’s Date Night Wristlet pattern into a color blocked design. I took her main pattern piece, split it into fourths, and added 1/4″ seam allowances. Then after putting the pieces together I top stitch each seam for looks and also to lay the seams flat. On the inside I use a solid color for the main side linings and the middle credit card slots and a fun fabric for the divider and top and bottom credit card slots. Each one measures about 6″ by 8″.

 

And the final faux leather item I had been working on was a faux leather, black and white color-blocked, Star Wars hobo style purse! The initial pattern was McCall’s 6045. I use the color blocking of purse C with the handle of purse A with some of my own adjustments. Turned out great! Even has self covered Star Wars buttons, ;). Measures about 14″ wide and 7″ tall.

Black and White Star Wars Purse

And then of course I had to make an entire Star Wars black and white set. I use high quality faux leather that has an amazing buttery soft feeling.

Black and White Collection

My other original design is a simple pouch measuring about 6″ by 9″ using 100% cotton fabric and sturdy interfacing. My favorites so far are my Marilyn Monroe and Sewing Notions pouches. I have a My Little Pony (vintage version) in the works.

image1 (4)

Majority of these are available in my shop on Etsy and I also accept custom orders too.

 

I also see I have reached 50 blog followers! Thank you! I am working on creating a free pattern PDF as a thank you for all of your comments, likes, and support. :).  Would you rather have a simple bi-fold wallet pattern or a running arm band pattern? Comment below with your preference!

One thought on “Busy Month!

Leave a Reply

