Handmade Gifts: Fabric Gift Bag and Frozen Purse

I decided to make the majority of my Christmas gifts this year and couldn’t quite figure out what to make my three-old newphew so I did some research and decided he would love a puzzle. Rather than making one I decided to make the bag to put it in so he can carry it around with him and whatever else he can fit in it.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles is really in right now so I got some of that fabric from Jo-Ann’s and used Peek-a-Boo’s fabric gift bag tutorial. 5 stars! This pattern was super easy and simple to follow and make. From creation of the paper pattern pieces to cut out to sew to finish only took me 1.5 hours. I used 1/2 yard of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle fabric for the outside and 1/2 yard of royal blue on the inside with matching blue ribbon for the handles. I cut each ribbon piece at 12″. For the interfacing I used from Pellon 950F ShirTailor I had on hand.

I decided to make the large bag and to edge stitch the lining and exterior fabric in place since my ironing it down wasn’t quite as stable as I would prefer. Next time instead of sewing the two pieces together at the top, leaving an opening in the lining side, and turning them right side back out, I think I will just put the lining right side out inside the exterior fabric and stitch the top. Would just make it a tad bit easier and faster for me. But overall I am very happy with his this bag turned out and my nephew loved it! I have plans to make myself some grocery bags next, :).

TMNT BagInside of TMNT Bag

 

Then for my niece is who about 6 or 7, I made a small purse out of Frozen fabric of course. I used the pattern pieces I created for my pencil pouches and added a divider in the middle along with a 50″ detachable strap. I used about 1/4 yard of the exterior fabric and divider pocket and some scraps for the interior lining. I also lined each piece with Pellon 950F ShirTailor for structure including the strap. The little hooks for the straps were just 3″ by 3″ fabric squares lined with the same interfacing with D-rings so I could attach the strap. Of course she loved it, :).

Leave a Reply

