Knitted Set of Hat, Mitts, and Neck Warmer

Been in a knitting mood of late and with all of this cold weather and snow (8″!) here in Nashville I decided I needed a nice warm set of winter wear. I started off just needing a new hat and then saw this neck warmer designer by the same designer and decided, well I need mitts too, ;). First I began with the Fisherman’s Wife Beret by Kalurah Hudson on Ravelry as a free pattern. Love it! Overall it’s a pretty easy and quick make using Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick & Quick yarn and size 15 circular needles.

The hat starts with a tubular cast-on, this took me about an hour to figure out but this YouTube video was super helpful. Just don’t do what I did and try to cast on with a knit 2 purl 2, haha. Does not work! In the video she explains how to cast on using a knit 1 purl 1 method and then how to switch it to the K2P2 of the pattern. Once I figured it out it was pretty easy. You do some basic rib for a bit then switch to an easy cable pattern. Looks great! I did go ahead and put it over a dinner plate to shape it and it helped so much. Before I did that it was pretty stiff but washing it softened it up a bit and putting it over a plate helped it to keep it’s shape. I used Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick & Quick in the color Fisherman.

Flat Beret

 

And the hat flattened out.Hat

 

And on! I get so many compliments on this hat, :). And it’s so warm!Wearing the Hat

 

This same designer also has a matching neck warmer. She actually designed the hat to go with it from a customer request. The scarf was also a quick knit, done within 3 hours, :). I made the size medium and the pattern can be purchased on Ravelry here for $4. Such a beautiful design and so easy to wear. I used the same yarn and needles as the hat and purchased the buttons from Wal-Mart.

I blocked this out per the pattern and I am just so in love with it.

scarf

 

And last but not least, matching fingerless mitts! I used the same yarn but this time I switched to size 10 double pointed needles. These were made using the pattern Green Giant Fingerless Mitts available for free on Ravelry. I made the size small and added a couple rows for the thumb as I have long fingers. I liked how well the cable design went with the rest of the accessories.

Mitts

 

And all together! I have a bit of a cables obsession… ;). More info can be found on my Ravelry projects page: Fisherman’s Wife BeretThe Fisherman’s WifeGreen Giant Fingerless Mitts

The Whole Set

Leave a Reply

