Future Projects for 2016

Lately it seems I take two steps forward and 4 back in terms of completing projects. I had a list of things I wanted to make last year and even got the supplies for many but then I got distracted. There are always so many new patterns coming out and new “needs”, ;).

Currently I have a line of projects lined up on my sewing desk that I am determined to finally sew and finish.

M6757

First up is McCall’s 6757 using 3.5 yards of this gorgeous Calvin Klein navy pants fabric I purchased last year for a pair of pants I was self drafting. I’ve gained a few pounds since then and not feeling motivated enough to redraft everything so I picked up a Palmer Pletsch pattern, McCall 6757. It has patterns and instructions for how to make a pair of fit and flare pants and a fitted skirt. The instructions are great. Palmer and Pletsch go through how to fit the paper pattern pieces and trying these on before even cutting out the fabric. I’ll post more details once I have actually made the pants using the good fabric. I’ve read that the welt pocket directions are backwards, haven’t had a chance to try making one yet. Hoping to finish these pants by next Sunday.

M6749

My next project after the pants (and maybe skirt as I have enough fabric leftover) I plan to re-make McCalls 6749, currently out of print. I made version C a few years ago and it no longer fits. I had always wanted to make a version D so that is my plan. I couldn’t find rayon voile in the color I wanted to I ordered some white from Fabric.com (amazing quality) and will attempt to dye it navy blue using Procion mx dyes and then pair it with this beautiful pale yellow lace I found on Etsy. The shop owner was so sweet and sent a hand written card with it. I have a wedding to attend in July and think this will be the perfect dress. Also the last time I made this I was unaware of full bust adjustments, so it should fit much better!

This was my first version, turned out gorgeous and loved it, was so hard to let it go. But, when you can’t get the zipper zipped, it’s time.

The new version will be a navy blue a lot like the color in this photo paired with the pale yellow lace where in the photo above you see the blue ribbon. Not intertwining ribbon into the lace again, looked beautiful but is always getting caught on something.

IMG_8450

 

 

B5526

Then I am going to work on Butterick 5526, making a couple long sleeved button down shirts. I have some white fabric and a pretty pink/purple plaid flannel I had purchased last year.

 

vest.jpg

And finally make my boyfriend a fancy vest. I had purchased the fabric to make it last month and ran out of time as well as the pattern I wanted was always out at the local fabric stores. So I found this Jason vest BurdaStyle pattern and will give that a try.

I also have enough jeans fabric to make up two pairs of Ginger Jeans. I had purchased this Theory Navy Stretch Denim from Mood Fabrics to make the first pair and then I splurged and got this 10.5 oz Cone Mills Denim from Threadbare Fabrics. Yes, Cone Mills denim! This is the good stuff used in fancy designer jeans. Learned about this source from Lladybird.

So hopefully by the end of April I will have a pair of work pants, a skirt, 2 pairs of jeans, 2 long sleeved button down shirts, a dress, and a vest for the boyfriend. I am sure I will get distracted and make a few other things such as this Wren Dress by Colette Patterns I have been eyeing and have the perfect fabric in my stash.

I also need to start on my fancy couture suit. I had made the mock up of the skirt here but haven’t been able to make the ready to wear version of the couture jacket Vogue 8333 yet because I keep pro-longing ordering 60″ wide nylon interfacing. I literally have everything else. I purchased some beautiful navy wool, silk for the lining, silk organza for structure, horse hair canvas…I think I even have the buttons. Hopefully by the end of the year!

Leave a Reply

