Gertie’s Halter Top

Going along with my Vintage pledge to make more vintagey items and try some more of Gertie’s patterns. I went ahead and tried my hand at her Halter Top in her book Gertie Sews Vintage Casual.

I had some trouble sorting out how to fit the bra cups portion of this top. I ended up splitting the bottom cup in 2 and adding about 2″ in my attempt at a full bust adjustment. It’s still not perfect but overall pretty good. I made the size 10 from her book using some Gertie floral fabric of course! It had some stretch so I opted to not put in a zipper and with the shirring on the sides I didn’t need one, :). Sorting out the fitting of the cups took me about 5 trials, but the rest of the tank was pretty easy and had it together in a few hours. Love my serger!

I decided to make mine a tank instead of a halter by adding about 4″ to each strap. Finding the correct placement was a little tricky but not too bad. I plan to just wear a strapless bra with it anyway.

I had just enough fabric left over from making my pencil skirt posted here but not enough for the cup lining so I used some dark blue Bemberg lining for the cup lining and used sew in fleece instead of iron on. Looks pretty good. The instructions were easy to follow and due to the nature of the fabric fraying I serged all of the seams.

inside top

Look at those beautiful seams and all of that shirring!!! The shirring actually went along pretty quick since I didn’t start and end each row individually as per her instructions.

serged seams

Still working on getting the placement of the straps but I think it looks pretty good and is perfect for summer! Looks great with my new Ginger Flares, ;).

tank

One thought on “Gertie’s Halter Top

Leave a Reply

